Our Board of Directors

Mat Franklin, Chair

Mat was elected Chair of Volunteering and Contact ACT in 2015 following two years as the President of Contact Canberra. Mat's non executive roles include directorships of an Engineering Consulting firm and Volunteering Australia. He holds an advisory role with a Norwegian fin-tech startup and has consulted on board effectiveness. Mat is a Harvard Business School Alumnus, holds a Masters in Management, a Bachelors of Computer Science and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is a fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia, the Institute of Managers and Leaders and the Royal Society of the Arts. Mat is currently a management consultant following senior executive roles in technology, federal government, civil engineering and Defence. In 2018 he was recognised in the national top 10 by Australian Financial Review's Young Executive of the Year Awards. In 2016 he was selected as one of 60 Emerging Leaders of Asia and consulted with the Malaysian Government and HRH The Princess Anne on Economic Development in South East Asia.

Shivani Gounder, Treasurer

Shivani joined the VCA Board in August 2017 and is the chair of the Finance and Audit Committee. Shivani is an experienced internal auditor and a qualified Chartered Accountant. Shivani has been working in the accounting profession since 2011. Shivani currently works for a Canberra based consulting firm, Synergy Group Australia. She has experience working in the Federal government and not-for-profit clients. Shivani’s professional skills include financial accounting and audit, budgeting & forecasting, project management, analytical and critical thinking, interviewing technique, negotiation skills, report writing, proposal writing, career planning & management, leadership. Shivani believes strong governance and leadership underpin the success of any organisation, for profit or not.

Bobby Wan, Board Member

Bobby was appointed as a director of Volunteering and Contact ACT in 2018 and is currently a member of the Finance and Audit committee and risk and policy committee. Bobby is currently an Associate Director of the corporate and commercial team at Chamberlains Law Firm, and specifically has advised a number of not for profit entities in relation to corporate governance matters. Prior to becoming a lawyer Bobby has also previously worked in a financial services firm. Bobby holds a bachelor of laws, bachelor of commerce and graduate diploma of legal practice from the Australian University and is an admitted solicitor in the Australian Capital Territory.

Clare Sullivan, Board Member

Clare Sullivan is passionate about building strong communities. Clare has 20 years experience in advocacy and intergovernmental relations, communications and community consultation, stakeholder engagement and management. Clare’s experience spans all three levels of Government, the private sector and not-for-profit sector with a deep understanding of local government and community leadership. Clare is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Local Government Professionals, the peak body that represents and supports CEOs and senior staff in councils across Australia. Clare holds a Masters of Business Administration, Graduate Diploma in Management, and an Advanced Diploma in Communications, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute for Company Directors.

George Brenan, Board Member

George was previously on the governing Council of Contact Canberra. George has extensive experience in a range of senior executive roles in the public sector and is a General Manager in the Office of Transport Security, Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development. From 2012-2017 he was an executive of the National Security College, Australian National University. For some years, George was an HR specialist before transitioning to strategic and general management. George is a graduate member of the Australian institute of Company Directors. His support for the Canberra community includes membership of the Board of Karralika Programs Inc. His other interests include early music performance, the regional communities surrounding the ACT and the needs of sexuality and gender diverse communities.

Dr Jayne Curnow, Board Member

Jayne joined the Volunteering and Contact ACT Board in May 2018 and is a member of the Finance and Audit Committee. Jayne holds a PhD in Anthropology and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She works for the Commonwealth Government in international agricultural research for development and is a Visiting Fellow at the Australian National University, College of Asia & the Pacific.

Robyn Hendry, Board Member

Robyn joined the Volunteering and Contact ACT Board in November 2018 and is a member of the Nominations Committee. Robyn's non-executive roles include directorship of Tennis ACT and Australian Prime. Robyn has tertiary qualifications in management from the University of South Australia, holds an Advanced Diploma of Hospitality Management, and is an active member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has previously worked in Chief Executive Officer positions for Canberra Business Chamber and Canberra Convention Bureau.